NUPRC: Senate Confirms Four Buhari Nominees

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed the nominations of four Executive Commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission (NUPRC).

The confirmation of the nominees followed the consideration of a report by the Committee on Petroleum Resources (Upstream).

Senator Patrick Akinyelure submitted the report on behalf of the Chairman of the Committee, Senator Albert Bassey Akpan.

Those confirmed include Dr Nuhu Habib (North West – Kano State), Executive Commissioner, Development and Production; and Dr Kelechi Onyekachi Ofoegbu (South-East, Imo State), Executive Commissioner, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning.

Others were Capt. Tonlagha Roland John (South-South, Delta State), Executive Commissioner, Health, Safety, Environment and Community; and Mr Jide Adeola (North-Central, Kogi State), Commissioner, Corporate Services and Administration.

Akinyelure, in his presentation, said that the appointments of the nominees satisfied the requirements of Sections 11 and 18 (1-5) of the Petroleum Industry Act, 2021.

He stated that the nominees possess the requisite qualifications, leadership qualities and comportment to discharge the statutory duties and functions of the various offices.

Akinyelure disclosed that there was no petition or adverse reports received by the panel against any of the nominees.

“The nominees are “fit and proper persons,” Senator Akinyelure told his colleagues.


For more stories, please visit our website –;   YouTube channel – NTA Abeokuta News;   Facebook Page – @NTAABEOKUTACHANNEL12 and  Instagram – @ntaabeokuta1979

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button