INEC swears in 19 new RECs

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has sworn-in 19 newly appointed Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

President Muhammadu Buhari, in July, transmitted the names of the 19 REC nominees to the Senate for confirmation. They were confirmed on October 5 amid protests by Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and other groups.

Five of the 19 were returnees for their second and last five-year tenure.

Those whose tenure were renewed were Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa); Obo Effanga (Cross River); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba); Agboke Olaleke (Ogun) and Professor Samuel Egwu (Kogi).

The 14 others on fresh five-year appointment are: Onyeka Ugochi (Imo); Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto); Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo); Zango Abdu (Katsina); and Queen Agwu (Ebonyi).

Others are: Agundu Tersoo (Benue); Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta); Prof. Yahaya Ibrahim (Kaduna); Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Garki (FCT); Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Prof. Uzochukwu Chijioke (Anambra) and Mohammed Nura (Yobe).

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, noted that each of the RECs brings to the Commission, knowledge and experience in various fields.

According to him, in terms of professional background, nine were from the academia, including professors; two lawyers; an accountant; a retired Ambassador and six civil/public servants, including retired Permanent Secretaries.

Speaking on behalf of the RECs, Obo Effanga, assured that they would be bounded by the oath of allegiance to Nigeria and also discharge their responsibilities in accordance to the guidelines and other provisions of their appointment to deepen the integrity of the electoral system in the country.


For more stories, please visit our website –;   YouTube channel – NTA Abeokuta News;   Facebook Page – @NTAABEOKUTACHANNEL12 and  Instagram – @ntaabeokuta1979


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button