Ogun Eighth Legislature Winds down, Passed 67 Bills.

Ogun Eighth Legislature Winds Down, Says 67 Bills Passed,

The Speaker of the Ogun State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Suraju Ishola Adekunbi says the 7th and 8th Legislative sessions he led for eight years, passed a total of sixty-seven bills and numerous resolutions.

Adekunbi, who disclosed this at the valedictory session of the 8th Assembly held at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, added that the Assembly had equally achieved financial autonomy for the legislature, noting that the Assembly had always ensured the speedy passage of appropriation bills  before the commencement of  any financial year, with due diligence.

The Speaker lauded his colleague-lawmakers for their support at creating enabling environment for socio-economic advancement and investment opportunities, inspite of political differences, stating that the Assembly emerged the most prolific and resourceful in the country through core legislative business and the delivery of democratic dividends to respective constituents.

The Speaker attributed his uninterrupted leadership and record setting attainment as the Speaker, in both seventh and eighth legislative sessions, to the help of Almighty Allah, the sacrifice and understanding of his colleagues, who gave him the opportunity to serve the Gateway State.

‘’I inherited a polarised legislative arm and immediately swung into action by restoring peace and sanity to the State Assembly, having united all lawmakers towards engendering productivity in lawmaking and the overall development of the State’’.

Assuring of his advice and service to the incoming 9th Legislature, Adekunbi tasked them to strive hard to surpass the record of the outgone 8th Legislature by making the electorate have value for their votes and painstaking sacrifices.

He enjoined the incoming lawmakers to sustain the existing tempo of legislative vibrancy and mutual interdependence among the three arms of government, urging them to be a partner in progress by resisting every attempt to bring them on a collision course with other arms of government.

Earlier, members including; the Deputy Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo, Majority Leader Olusola Sonuga, Honourables Yetunde Sogbein-Adekanbi, Oyenuga Olufowobi, Adebowale Ojuri, Akinpelu Aina, Victor Fasanya, Adebiyi Adeleye and Jimi Otukoya, thanked God for the opportunity to represent their constituents and the Speaker, for his charismatic leadership and inclusiveness, as well as the dedication of the entire workers of the Assembly.

Others including; Adebowale Solaja, Harrison Adeyemi, Israel Jolaoso, Olayiwola Ojodu, Folakemi Akintayo, Viwanu Ojo, Oludare Kadiri, Ganiyu Oyedeji, Jemili Akingbade, Akanbi Bankole, Olawale Alausa, said their experience in the last four years was worthwhile and together they have contributed their quota to the progress and development of the State.

The valedictory session was attended by a former Speaker of the 3rd Legislature, Bashorun Muyiwa Oladipo, members-elect of the 9th Legislature amongst other dignitaries.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button