Emir Of Kano Now Permanent Chairman Of Council Of Emirs

Kano State governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, has signed Kano State Emirates Council Amendment Law  2020, which makes Kano Emir as the Chairman of the Council of Emirs permanent.

It would be recalled that earlier, the position was on rotational between the five First-Class Emirs.

With the signing of this into law, Aminu Ado Bayero remains the Chairman of the Council, with Gidan Shettima as the Council secretariat, a stone thrown from the Kano Emir’s palace. The event took place during the State Executive Council meeting, held at Africa House, Government House, Kano on Wednesday.

Ganduje noted that “Before the signing of this amended law, we had 4 kingmakers from each of the 5 Emirates. But we now have 5 kingmakers from each of the 5 Emirates in the state. We did that to avert any unwanted situation in an event of appointing an Emir if need be. So we need to have odd numbers, not even numbers.”

He also recalled that Kano being the 4th in the ranking of Emirs in the country, and Kano Emir attends engagements at a higher level, national, being number 4 in the category of Emirs in the country, explaining that, “To avoid the contradiction of sort, Kano Emir should therefore be a permanent chairman of the State Council of Emirs.”

Governor Ganduje further reveals that very soon the Emir of Kano would be inaugurated as the Chairman of the State Council of Emirs, adding that, “…the Secretariat, located at Gidan Shettima has since been under renovation.”


Please, remember to always like our page and visit our website for updates. You can also download our android mobile app from google playstore

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button