Edo Queens, Delta Queens kick off NWFL Premiership Super Six

Edo Queens, Delta Queens kick off NWFL Premiership Super Six

The Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Premiership Super Six will kick off with Edo Queens of Benin facing Delta Queens of Asaba on Monday in Ijebu-Ode.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Super Six is a competition for the top six teams of the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership after the league was terminated abruptly.

The competition was introduced to determine the two teams which will represent the country at the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League.

The competition will begin on Monday at the Dipo Dina Stadium in Ijebu-Ode, with the draw held on Sunday.

NWFL’s Chief Operating Officer (COO), Modupe Shabi, told NAN after the competition’s draw on Sunday the league body was hopeful it would help produce the best teams to represent Nigeria.

Bayelsa Queens of Yenagoa will face Sunshine Queens of Akure, while Rivers Angels of Port Harcourt will battle FC Robo of Lagos to complete Match Day 1 on Monday.

On Tuesday, Match Day 2 action will see Sunshine Queens against Edo Queens, with FC Robo facing Bayelsa Queens, and Delta Queens taking on Rivers Angels.

All the teams will take a rest on Wednesday for a return on Thursday, when Edo Queens will take on FC Robo.

Later that day, Bayelsa Queens will face Rivers Angels, while Sunshine Queens will take on Delta Queens.

Match Day 4 on Friday will see Rivers Angels taking on Edo Queens, with Delta Queens facing Bayelsa Queens and FC Robo against Sunshine Queens.

The competition’s final day on Sunday will see the matches being played simultaneously, with Edo Queens against Bayelsa Queens, Sunshine Queens facing Rivers Angels and FC Robo meeting Delta Queens.(NAN)

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button